Welcome to DC

July 15, 2009 cindymusser
Tags:

We arrived in DC around 1:30 this afternoon.  Unfortunately, our room was not available until after 3:00 due to a large teachers conference just checing out.  Kim Wenger, my roommate, and I decided to go to the National Zoo to see the Pandas.  It was really hot out there and very hilly, but we made the trek and have returned to our now available, air conditioned room.  We’re getting ready for the evening activities: Literacy Signing and First Timers Workshop. 

The hotel is very nice, but I was disappointed to discover that free wireless acess was not available.  I thought in this day and age, when Wi-Fi access can be found almost anywhere–even in my home town in rural PA–that the Marriott would offer the same.  Imagine my surprise to learn that internet access from this hotel costs $12.95 per day.  However, I promised to blog my first conference experience and decided to take the plunge–into my pocket book that is.  So I hope I can provide those of you who couldn’t attend this year’s conference the feeling of being here.

Entry Filed under: Romance Writing

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Natalie J. Damschroder  |  July 23, 2009 at 3:01 am

    It’s an illogical fact that the more you pay for a hotel room, the fewer amenities you get.

    High-end hotels have little competition and attract business clientele, so they charge for everything they can get away with–it’s just expensed to the business, after all.

    The hotels people like us usually stay in have TONS of competition, which is why they entice us with free breakfasts and WiFi. 🙂


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts